Holmes wins awards in state yearbook competition

 Pictured is the cover of the 2020 Holmes Horizons Yearbook, “Leading the Pack.”
Pictured is the cover of the 2020 Holmes Horizons Yearbook, “Leading the Pack.”
Holmes Community College's Horizons yearbook received a few different honors during the 2019-20 Mississippi Community and Junior College Press Association yearbook competition. Yearbooks were judged in six categories: cover, theme, coverage, design, copy and photography.
This year, Holmes' yearbook theme was "Leading the Pack," and Horizons came in fifth place overall. Horizons also placed third in the coverage category, third in the copy category and tied for third in the design category. Holmes also placed fourth in photography, fifth in the cover category and tied for sixth place in the theme category.

The 2019-20 Horizons staff members included: Kaitlyn Anderson of Jackson, Ashlee Hankins of Duckhill, Tiara LeFlore of Byram, Talor Pounds of Grenada, Aurora Sant'Angelo of Jackson, Deja Sloan of Madison and Ayliahna Wilson of Brandon. Anderson and Sloan served as 2019-20 editors.
The 2020 yearbook cover was created by Jostens' graphic designers (under the direction of the yearbook editors) and the yearbook is advised by public relations specialist/publications coordinator Mary Margaret Busby.

For more information about student publications at Holmes, contact Busby at mbusby@holmescc.edu or (601) 605-3376.