Ridgeland Campus recognizes students with Virtual Honors Program

Ridgeland Campus Academic  Dean Dr. Tonya Lawrence welcomes everyone to the 2020 Virtual Honors Program.
Ridgeland Campus Academic Dean Dr. Tonya Lawrence welcomes everyone to the 2020 Virtual Honors Program.

The Holmes Community College Ridgeland Campus recognized its students' achievements and honors a little differently this year: rather than hold an on-campus celebration, faculty and staff created a virtual presentation for students to watch. Instructors representing each academic and career-technical program submitted a video clip of them presenting the award to the student as if they were there presenting on stage.

The virtual program recognized this year's 2020 Ridgeland Campus Hall of Fame inductees. Hall of Fame is the highest honor a student can receive and recipients were voted on by faculty and staff based on academic achievement, campus involvement and community service. The inductees included: Ja'Laycia Roqueia Brown of Kosciusko; Macy C. Gordy of Canton; Bailee Grace Gregg of Florence; Jake Ham of Brandon; Caseigh Hickman of Florence, David Blake Humphreys of Yazoo City; Luke Langford of Jackson; Peyton Montgomery of Coldwater; Addison Stevens of Madison; Alysia Terry of Byram; Jadyn A. Williams of Brandon and Samantha Erin Williams of Brandon.

A couple of these students received additional awards, as well. Alysia Terry was named the Health, Physical Education & Recreation Award recipient and Jadyn Williams received the Business Award.

Gracie MacGown of Madison and Nathan Wildhaber of Jackson were recognized, as well, for being named to the Phi Theta Kappa All Mississippi Academic Team. Wildhaber was also a Phi Theta Kappa Order of Golden Key recipient, and MacGown received the Physical Science Award and the History & Political Science Award. Brandon Williams of Canton received the Fine Arts Award; Deja Sloan of Madison, the Journalism Award; Brian Sullivan of Ridgeland, the Mathematics Award; Jordan Cobb of Madison, the Public Speaking Award and Bennett Pope of Byram, the Biological Science Award.

The Educational Programs Award went to Hannah Reeves of Brandon; the Spanish Award to Bryanna Young of Pearl; the English Composition Award to Sofia Melgar of Brandon, the Literature Award to Aurora Sant'Angelo of Jackson and the Criminal Justice Award to Sarah Snyder of Madison. Additionally, Brian Sullivan of Madison received the Engineering Award and Apryll Clark of Walnut Grove the Social/Behavioral Science Award.

In the Career-Technical Educational Department, Jonathan Sumrall of Madison was awarded the Industrial Maintenance Mechanics Award; Maggie Paulk of Madison, the Occupational Therapy Assistant Technology Award; Tamara Sims of Canton, the Associate Degree Nursing Award; Christina Rushing of Ridgeland, the Practical Nursing Award and Edy Paredes of Jackson, the Emergency Medical Sciences Award.

Both Lauren McDonald and Kayla Neal of Terry received Surgical Technology Awards; Kasey Bruckner of Madison, the Engineering Technology Award; Amanda Kirk of Jackson, the Paralegal Technology Award; Margaret Sanders of Jackson, the Business Technology Award and David Ethan Goodman of Pelahatchie, the Information Systems Technology Award. In addition, Kristopher Andrew Ables of Madison was named the Welding and Cutting Technology recipient and Mendy Johnson of Ruth was named the Mortuary Science Award recipient.

Each award recipient will receive a certificate in the mail, as well. For more information on Holmes Community College, visit www.holmescc.edu.