Growl staff garners awards at journalism conference

Growl staff garners awards at McDavid Journalism Conference Six Holmes students represented Holmes Community College at the 2017 O.C. McDavid Journalism Conference held in conjunction with Jackson State University's School of Journalism and Media Studies on March 30 at JSU's Mississippi e-Center. Two members of the Growl student newspaper - Mia Jones from the Ridgeland Campus and Ethan Burton from Goodman placed in the McDavid Conference Better Newspaper Contest Student Division. Jones won second place in the Editorial Division and Burton placed third in Editorial Cartoons.

Other Holmes representatives at the conference included: Taylor Vance, Growl editor from the Grenada Campus; Nykeem Liddell from Goodman; Charleigh Mcphail from Goodman; Abby Perez from Goodman; District Director of Communications/Associate Athletic Director for External Relations Steve Diffey, and Public Relations Specialist/Student Publications Coordinator Mary Margaret Busby.

For more information on Holmes student publications and journalism classes, contact Busby at or (601) 605-3376.


IN THIS PHOTO: Pictured are the Growl staff members who attended the conference. They are (left to right) Mia Jones, Ridgeland Campus, second place winner in Editorials Category; Charleigh Mcphail, Goodman Campus; Taylor Vance, Grenada Campus, Growl editor; Abby Perez, Goodman Campus; Nykeem Liddell, Goodman Campus, and Ethan Burton, Goodman Campus, third place winner in the Editorial Cartoons Category.Save