Phi Theta Kappa Chapters bring home awards from international convention

Holmes Community College’s Phi Theta Kappa chapters from Goodman and Ridgeland received nine awards during last week’s Phi Theta Kappa International Convention in Orlando, Fla. Over four thousand students, advisors and administrators from all over the world attended this year’s convention including 581 chapters.

Goodman’s Kappa Alpha Chapter was the ninth finalist for the Most Distinguished Chapter Award, which was Kappa Alpha’s seventh consecutive year to be named to the Top 10. Kappa Alpha also received the Beta Alpha Continued Excellence Award, which was given only to seven chapters internationally and was the fourth consecutive year Kappa Alpha received this award. Kappa Alpha and Alpha Lambda Sigma of the Ridgeland Campus were named Top 100 Chapters.

Kappa Alpha received the Distinguished College Project Award given to 25 chapters internationally and also received the Distinguished Honors in Action Project Award given to 50 chapters internationally.

The Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter brought home the Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award given to 30 chapters internationally. Officers from the Ridgeland Campus are Cierra Bracey, Kristen Davis, Elizabeth Evans, Katelyn Hardy, Ryan Harris, Shelby Huff and Abbey Winstead. Alpha Lambda Sigma Advisor Laura McMahon received the Paragon Award for New Advisors, which was given to 30 advisors internationally.

Vice President for Institutional Research and Development Dr. Lindy McCain received the Distinguished Administrator Award, which is one of 25 given internationally.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society for two-year colleges. Phi Theta Kappa offers transfer scholarships to community and junior colleges all over the world to select four-year colleges and universities.