McMahon to receive Phi Theta Kappa's Paragon Award for New Advisors

Holmes Community College Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Laura McMahon from the Alpha Lambda Sigma Chapter on the Ridgeland Campus and 29 other Phi Theta Kappa advisors will be honored with the 2014 Paragon Award for New Advisors at the Phi Theta Kappa annual convention NerdNation 2014 in Orlando, Fla., April 24-26.

Recipients will receive commemorative medallions and be honored during the Association of Chapter Advisors Luncheon and the Hallmark Awards Gala. McMahon was recently recognized for the award during the Mississippi-Louisiana Region Convention held at Jones County Junior College.

The Paragon Award for New Advisors recognizes advisors who have served less than four years and have made significant contributions to the growth of the individual chapter members, served as the chapter’s advocate on campus, and encouraged the chapter to be involved on the local, regional, and/or international level of the organization. Advisors were nominated by their chapters through the Hallmark Awards application process.  They were selected by a panel of judges from over 100 nominees worldwide.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, plus Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.