Outstanding Alumni

Over the years, Holmes Community College has seen some fantastic students come through its doors. The Holmes Community College Alumni Association began honoring its alumni in 1975 with either the Alumnus of the Year or the Distinguished Service Award. These awards are chosen by the Executive Committee of the Holmes Community College Alumni Association.

Selection Criteria
Persons interested in nominating someone for the Alumnus of the Year Award or the Distinguished Service Award should mail their nomination and include a copy of the person’s current resume to the Holmes Community College Alumni Association, Attn: Hillary O'Briant, P.O. Box 369 Goodman, MS 39079. For more information, you can call 662.472.9134 or email Hillary O'Briant at hobriant@holmescc.edu


Past Recipients


Alumnus of the Year

Distinguished Service Award

2013 Edward E. Bryant, M.D., Ph.D  J. S. "Dynamite" Kirk
2012 Dr. Robert N. Gilliland, Sr. Paul S. Shelton
2011 Dr. Ronald E. Kennedy Johnny “Bit” Belk
2010 Dr. James Randall Ramsey Dr. Donald E. Phillips
2009 Lynda Irby Dr. Dan Osborne
2008 Dr. Lynn Wright Dewitte Belk
2007 Ralph Barnes Sam “Sport” Reves
2006 Joe Adams
Jack Holmes
Wilton Neal
2005 JW Richardson Howard Guthrie
2004 Ed Nance Wilbur Harpole
2003 David Dillon Gene and Janice Richardson
2002 Jo Betty Rosier Dr. Robin Pierce
2001 Robert Alexander Charles Stacy
2000 Jesse Phillips Dub Herring
1999 Ken Jackson Ben Rusche
1998 Jim Golden Judge Fred Wicker
1997 Dr. Anita Adams Larson Dr. Harvey McCrory
1996 W.A. Miles Dr. Max Dale Cooper
1995 Dr. Hiram Palmertree Dr. Walter Roberts
James Alford
1994 Shirley Fowler Lobmiller Robert Irby
Robert Kennington
1993 Dr. R. J. Doyle Doris Hood Belk
Wade Henson
1992 Dr. Hermie Plunk Arthur T. Austin, Jr.
Emily Pope Young
1991 Jesse Leverette Hugh Gibson
Woodson Earle
1990 Sidney M. Runnels Mrs. Marion Ann Ledbetter
Mrs. Norma B. Ferrill
1989 Dr. Samuel O. Massey Mrs. Neil Y. Branch
Charles Unger Donald
1988 Dr. Alton Cobb Egbert Hines
Robert R. Hodges
1987 D. W. Snyder W. C. “Dub” Shoemaker
D. P. McGowan, Jr.
1986 David Herbert Donald Wilbur Harpole
N.C. Hawthorn
1985 Dewitte Belk Mr. & Mrs. W. Y. Sudduth
1984 Dr. Sam Hall Lennie B. Branch
Marion A. Ousley
1983 Dr. Tom Dulin Dorothy Thomas
M. C. Mansel
1982 Thomas Elliott Nix Christine Carithers
W. Godfrey Campbell
1981 Faye Graham Dillard Carl E. Cooper
W. E. “Bill” Gunn
1980 Guy Ray Braswell Walker G. “Dub” Brown
Grace Kirk Harpole
1979 Melvin E. Gibson Winfred V. Watts
Charles C. Perry
1978 Donald E. Phillips Jack B. Carlisle
1977 Maxie Bruce John Clark Love, Sr.
Robert W. Almond
1976 Clarence A. Pierce, Jr. W. Ralph Applewhite
Malcolm M. Bennett, Sr.
1975 Hilary O. Thomas Frank A. Eakin
Dr. A. A. Derrick, Jr.